The Dressed Body : Art 302 Take Home Quiz

  1. I would consider my social group as being college students.  In this group the norms for dressing are rather ambiguous, but largely characterized by the need to be comfortable.  A typical college student outfit would be jeans and a t-shirt. In The Dressed Body, dress is described as social and is also produced through “routine practices directed towards the body (Entwistle, 34). The dress of a college student is somewhat dictated by the interactions between each other, but it is highly influenced by long days on campus. T-shirt and jeans is a versatile style, giving a solid foundation for personal expression. There are many variations, from grungy to chic, but its casualness makes it the ideal uniform for a long day at school. As this comfy combination is the predominant ­­­­style in my closet, I can’t see myself wanting to change this norm.  Walking around campus, I often see other students trying to break away from the casual mold.  One look at their stiletto heels, fully done up hair and make-up, or whatever they’re sporting, makes me feel immediate discomfort for them.  Although usually an advocate of walking to the beat of your own drum, this fashion norm is one bandwagon I will gladly jump on. I don’t see myself ever giving up my denim and tees.051bfdf8853d5d927b40e90a0743c24c 122f1c78b7a3b00a3d6d838e1687d2cf
  2. We dress within the boundaries of our culture to avoid “social censure” (Entwistle, 36). Early on we develop an “epidermic self-awareness”, a sense of how our dress fits us and how it fits into society around us (Entwistle, 45). I experienced fashion embarrassment at a typical age: preteen.  Growing up in a very conservative, religious family, we were required to emulate modesty and femininity.   This, of course, is still a standard I strive for. I have zero intentions of beginning to dress provocatively, however the way I express this modesty has grown more lax over the years.  Our clothes growing up had a “moral imperative” for us (Entwistle, 48). This style choice was conveyed though loose, baggy jumpers/dresses/skirts.  I didn’t wear a pair of pants until I was perhaps 11 or 12.  I remember feeling embarrassed going out at times, when my friends were wearing cute, “trendy” clothes, and I was swathed in what I felt was a floral garbage bag.  This time of low fashion self-esteem led to experimentation and attempts to create a new image for myself.  I began to choose more form fitting clothes and attempted to mimic the trends of my friends.  The irony of this is that today my personal style evolved into a relaxed statement. Now, I prefer loosely fitting clothing, I don’t consider myself a trend follower, I shop at thrift stores, and prefer to dress as though pajamas are acceptable to wear to any occasion. retro-trees-jumper-1OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  3.  This question can be viewed different ways.  I perceive my body as both passive and political. Is the very fact that I am wearing clothing a sign of passivity?  I acknowledge the push of society to be dressed and I comply by wearing styles that are recognizable by my culture.  Or is the active acknowledgment of the norms of society a political statement? I am actively choosing to follow these cultural stipulations, instead of actively choosing other less conventional ways of expressing my body.  My body is political because I don’t follow the trends of my generation. I choose to wear clothes that are comfortable to me, regardless of whether or not it is “fashion forward” or not. I pay more attention to the everyday routine that dictates my clothing, rather than the style of my peers. I would define myself as not “a passive object”, but produced through particular, routine, and mundane practices (Entwistle, 45).h-m-jeans-primark-t-shirt-converse-shoes_400 BQcDAAAAAwoDanBnAAAABC5vdXQKFmNlc211al9EUWRtb1J4bVYtVGwtNncAAAACaWQKAXgAAAAEc2l6ZQ
2 thoughts on “The Dressed Body : Art 302 Take Home Quiz”

Leave a Reply

